UTAG strike still on, as each of the 15 varsities blackball NLC mandate

Each of the 15 branches of the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) have communicated fortitude for the endless strike pronounced by the National Executive Committee (NEC) on Monday, January 10.

After a gathering with the National Labour Commission (NLC) and the Fair Wages and Salaries Commission (FWSC) with agents of the services of Employment and Labour Relations, Finance and Education in participation on Thursday, January 13, UTAG's activity was pronounced unlawful.

The Commission requested that the Association return to the auditoriums before arrangements on better states of administration proceed as it said it was against its guidelines for the discretion interaction to occur while the strike remains.

Yet, in the wake of giving the order to its branches to conclude the way forward, it seems not so much as one blessings the NLC mandate.

"Following the decision by the National Labor Commission (NLC) on thirteenth January, 2022 against UTAG individuals in regard of the cycles prompting the fractional pulling out of one (1) of three (3) center commands, instructing and related exercises, as unlawful, the NEC of UTAG educated the overall participation regarding UTAG about the order of the NLC," an update from UTAG on Wednesday, January 19 showed.

"Thus, the fifteen (15) part branches have held autonomous crisis gatherings with that impact and the overall participation communicated their disappointment with the order and were of opposite view," the update gave by National Secretary Dr Asare Asante-Annor said.

"Accordingly, the individuals have collectively set out to proceed with the withdrawal of educating and related administrations until additional notification."

Individuals have thus been asked to resist the urge to panic.

Among the branches which rejected NLC's interest are the University of Ghana (UG), Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), University of Mines and Technology (UMaT), University of Cape Coast (UCC) and University of Development Studies (UDS).

The others are the University of Education, Winneba (UEW), the Ghana Institute of Journalism (GIJ), University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), University of Health and Allied Sciences (UHAS), and University of Energy and Natural Resources (UENR).

The rest are CK Tedam University of Technology and Applied Sciences (CKT-UTAS), Akenten Appiah-Menka University of Skills Training and Entrepreneurial Development (AAMUSTED), Ghana Communication Technology University (GCTU), SD Dombo University of Business and Integrated Development Studies (SDD-UBIDS) and University of Environment Sustainable Development (UESD).

Writer: Elorm Dodonu

Source : 3newsGhana

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post