US lifts travel ban for eight South African countries » africantrendtv

The US will lift travel restrictions for eight South African countries on New Year's Eve, the White House announced on Friday.

The restrictions imposed last month should reduce the spread of the COVID-Omicron variant.

The November 29 ban bans nearly all non-US citizens who have recently been in South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Esvatini, Mozambique and Malawi.

White House spokesman Kevin Munoz said on Twitter that the solution was recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Munoz said the temporary travel ban had given scientists the time they needed to study the new variant of the virus and concluded that current vaccinations were effective at reducing its impact.

Omicron is now spreading rapidly in the United States, including those who have been vaccinated, but the vast majority of those hospitalized are not vaccinated.

"The limitations have given us time to understand Omicron, and we know that our current vaccine against Omicron is working, especially intensifying," Munoz wrote on Twitter.

From the Associated Press

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post