E/R: Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly Commissions And Hands Over Market Stalls


The Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly has on the 28th of August, 2021, commissioned and handed over fifty six (56) units newly constructed market sheds and twenty four (24) units renovated with concrete paving six hundred (600) meter square floor area, to the Akyem New-Tafo Community.

The Coordinating Director, Mrs Ruth Woode, in her address stated that, the project was funded from the District Performance Assessment Tool (DPAT). 

She commended all stakeholders for their contribution to the achievement of DPAT and called for their usual support and cooperation for more.

Mrs Ruth Woode admonished all the traders who are going to occupy the stalls to keep the best of maintenance culture and assured them that, a fire officer will be deployed to the market to educate them on fire prevention to avoid any future raze.

She further advised the market women to continue to abide by the COVID 19 protocols to help curb the spread.

"It has been observed that, majority of you are not complying with the COVID 19 protocols, after this round of sensitization, the sanctions on noncompliance will follow up as approved by General Assembly on 31st March 2021, where the police will start arresting and prosecuting offenders." Mrs Ruth Woode.

The coordinating director assured fair distribution of the stalls to the market women.

Receiving the documents of the stalls, Mrs Sarah Agyekum, Tafo Market Queen thanked the Assembly and government as a whole for fixing the market. 

She mentioned that, maximum maintenance practice is assured under her supervision and pleaded with the assembly to continue to fix the other sheds to complete the market infrastructural deficit.

Also present at the short ceremony was the presiding member of Abuakwa North, Hon Emmanuel Asare Gyekye, Alhaji Umar Bodinga, works sub committee chairman also first vice chairman Eastern Region NPP, departmental heads and staff of Abuakwa North Municipal Assembly, Hon Afari Agyeman, Mangoase Electoral Area Assemblyman, the clergy, the Municipal Chief Imam, market women and the press.

History Writes.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post